top of page

2021 Reading Wrap-Up

This post may be a bit different then the other post I've made. Although I figured I would jump on the end of the year bandwagon and do a wrap up of every book I've read this year (NovaKnows is only 3 months old so new ideas will come along the way.) So as a little Christmas treat and a New Years wrap up, I will be including all the books I've read this year and give small little reviews on them along with the links to their full reviews. :)


 


  • Harley Quinn Comics (New 52)

Starting with number one, Harley Quinn New 52 edition by Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmoiotti. Harley Quinn has always been one of my favorite DC characters and seeing her play an anti-hero type character in these comics gave me a new appreciation her.




 


  • Twilight Graphic Novels

I wanted to read these because at the beginning of the year I made it my personal mission to read any book connected to the twilight saga, when I found out there we're graphic novels I knew I had to read them to complete my list. Overall they were just short light books that felt like I just watched the movie really fast.




 


  • On A Sunbeam

On A Sunbeam was another graphic novel I read earlier this year and it was the first graphic novel I did a review on which you can find when you click the link below.

On A Sunbeam was a heartwarming story following a young girl named Mia on her journey to find love. Full review:




 

  • Wonder Woman Comics (New 52)

Wonder Woman is easily my favorite superhero on the DC side, and reading her New 52 comics helped me deepened my admiration of her and her story. After reading these comics I watched the movies that have come out in recent years and was pleased to know some of the context better.




 



  • As the World Dies Series (The First Days, Fighting to Survive, Siege)

This was one of the first book series I reviewed and published to this site. This series was recommended to me and I knew immediately that I wanted to recommend it to someone else, which led to some inspiration for this site. Full review:




 



  • Zombie Tales from Dead Worlds

The 'Fighting to Survive' series thats above also led me to this book of short little stories as part of the series. Each story was unique and gave me something to think about, even to this day. Full review:




 



  • Zom-B (Books 1-8)

There are 12 books in this series, and I only got to 8. Its not that the series was boring because honestly it was one of the most unique stories I've ever read, but I just found myself wanting to read something else and decided to take a little break. I plan on finishing them eventually.




 



  • The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

This was the first book I've read that took place in space but I genuinely think it added to the creepiness of this book enough by emphasizing how uncomfortable it would be to be alone in space to know that in 2022 I want to find more space themed books, a few of which will be listed in my 2022 reading lineup coming soon. Full review:





 



  • Life and Death

Life and Death is a twist on twilight that gave it a refreshing outlook. I would recommend this book to any Twilight lover who wants to read something related to the series. This was also the first book I reviewed on my site! Full review:





 


  • The 5 Love Languages

While I've already read The 5 Love languages this is something Im saving for January when I focus more on nonfiction books to help some people with some resolutions! Is strengthening your relationships (both platonic and romantic) part of your new goals? This book will help you immensely!




 


  • Life As We Knew It

Life As We Knew It is one of my favorite apocalyptic books. It doesn't involve zombies or any monsters, but the world dies in an uncomfortably realistic way that leaves you scared but eager to continue. I am currently reading the sequel, The Dead and the Gone, which will be getting reviewed and posted in January 2022. Full review:




 


  • Percy Jackson - The Lightning Thief, Sea of Monsters

Eventually I'll be doing a full review of this series, I just haven't finished them yet. I've never read the books but I will say I did miss out on a really great series in my childhood. Reading them as an adult though helps me love them even more.




 



  • Midnight Sun

This is the most recent Twilight book that came out in 2020, and I truly believe its the best book in the series. This book was written from Edwards POV and gives it a whole new outlook. Full Review:





 




  • Hush Hush Series (Hush Hush, Crescendo, Silence, Finale)

I read this series when I was younger and absolutely loved it. Earlier this year I wanted to re-read some of the books on my most loved childhood list, so naturally this one was one of my top priority reads. Reading it again as an adult I found a lot of my old likes, as well as developing new dislikes, for this series. Full Review:



 

  • The Midnight Library

Every now and then I'll pick up a random book thats quite popular at my work and read it to just see what all the hype was about. The Midnight Library caught my attention based on the fact that the library in the book is of all the alternate lives the main character, Nora Grey, could have lived. The concept of alternate universes gives this book a unique aspect on life. Full Review:




 

  • First, We Make the Beast Beautiful

I am absolutely obsessed with this book. I've made a vow to myself to read it at least once a year because of how helpful and enlightening it was to read about someone else's experience with High Functioning Anxiety. If you're someone looking for an amazing self help book focusing on anxiety, this is the book for you. Full Review:





 


  • The Longest Ride

This was the first Nicholas Sparks book I've ever read, and I'm still getting a feel for his writing and story style. As far as this book goes though I was pretty pleased with the story line, finding myself picking up The Choice which is recommended below. Full Review:





 

  • Later

This year was apparently the year for firsts, because this was my opening into the world of Stephen King (meaning this was my first SK book.) I was so fascinated with his writing style and how he could wonder off with the story but somehow still manage to pull it all together and it make complete sense. Full Review:




 

  • Turtles All the Way Down

It took me years to finally get around to this John Green book and when I finally did I was not disappointed. This was such a unique and heart tugging story about a girl with high anxiety and how her newfound adventure may be too much but just what she needed all at once. Full Review:




 

  • Anne of Green Gables

This book was also recommended to me by a friend and after a few chapter into it I knew I would fall in love with it. This book easily became in my top 3 favorite books and I plan on reading and reviewing the second one, Anne of Avonlea, in 2022. Full Review:




 

  • Chasing the Boogeyman

This book was a thriller/murder mystery book that I will recommend to anyone who loves this genre. Richard Chizmar wrote this in such a way I felt eerie the whole time reading it. And it's also one of Stephen King's recommendations too! Full Review:



 


  • Neon Gods

This book was on my tbr list forever, and I found it on my birthday and felt like the universe was giving me a present. It took me a few weeks to get around to reading it, but once I started I couldn't stop. Think Greek Mythology meets 50 Shades of Grey. Full Review:




 


  • The Choice

This is the second Nicholas Sparks book I've ever read, mostly because I'm going off of the movies I've watched. I will say it wasn't the most exciting read for me, but I didn't mind adding it to the list of books I've gotten to experience. Full Review:




 


  • Unfuck Yourself

This was genuinely such a fun and light self help book. While I do personally have trouble with some things sticking, I genuinely think about one of his tactics and use it often in my day to day life. "Am I willing, or unwilling." Full Review:




 



  • To All the Boys Ive Loved Before Series (To All the Boys Ive loved Before,

P.S. I Still Love You, Always and Forever Lara Jean)

Ive been wanting to read this series since the first movie came out, yet something just didnt pull me to it fully until my boyfriend surprised me one day by buying me the whole series. I finished all three books within a week. It was a bit young adult, but the sheer drama pf the story has you hooked anyways. I plan on doing a review of the whole series in 2022 so stay tuned!




 


  • Bird Box

When the movie came out in 2018 I was obsessed with this new apocalyptic concept. Yet I never really knew it was a book until a few weeks ago when I saw it in a book store. I knew immediately I had to read it and was not disappointed. It made my top favorite books very quickly. Full Review:





 

Next week I will also be posting my 2022 reading list. This will include books that will be coming out this upcoming year, books I didn't get to this previous year, or just books ive recently heard of and added them to ensure I get to them eventually. Let me know in the comments if this wrap up gave you some recommendations ! Also don't be shy to like and share some of these reviews with some friends who might like these books too! Your Christmas present to me can be to help me get my website out there in the world. ;) Although I am truly grateful for every single one of you for supporting me anyways. Merry Christmas everyone! Stay safe and truly enjoy everything about such a wonderful day.


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page