top of page

As The World Dies Series

By Rhiannon Frater


I am a sucker for zombie books. Zombie movies. Zombie anything. Although to be honest I think if there ever was a zombie outbreak, I would have absolutely no idea what to do despite my "knowledge." But who's to say anyone would actually be ready for the zombie apocalypse.


At first I was skeptical about this series. I didn't even think I would make it past the first book if im being completely honest. I think I was starting to be worn from my love of zombie things. But this book felt so realistic following the female led story with Jenni and Katie, it rose my interest from the dead. (Haha get it?) Anyways, I immediately got the second book, and the third, and then read a mini series about it. Thats how culptavating the As the World Dies series is.



 

The First Days


I was recommended this book and started reading this with little to no expectation. I mean how original can the same zombie horror trope get? Although I knew about halfway through that I would be reading the second book. You start off immediately (literally first sentence) getting thrown into the morning that the apocalypse begins with and follow them through their fear, confusion, and hope to find safety. Meeting new characters along the way, this book builds a good foundation in what's to come next in Fighting to Survive.


 

Fighting to Survive

Fighting to Survive follows the same story with Jenni and Katie but is even more sick and twisted than the first. I remember having to re-read some lines because some things we're a genuine shock to me. Thats what we look for in good books though right? Not only do they have the walking dead to worry about, but another group finds their success challenging. Between finding supplies, bringing in survivors, and trying to get used to the new life they live, the last thing they need is to fight other people. Although some small dispute against regular people seems like nothing when they go up against the U.S. government in book three: Siege.


 

Siege



The trilogy ends with a buildup to fight the US government that is so intense you'll be itching to get to the end just to know what happens. You would think in a zombie outbreak the system would fall right? Siege is filled with loss that feels so real and personal you mourn with the other characters. Although it's just as equally filled with hope that make you wanting more when it's finally over.

 

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page