top of page

Turtles All The Way Down

By: John Green

Fiction/Mystery/Mental Illness

 

TW: This book contains mental illness like extreme anxiety and OCD

 
 

This was another book that I picked up to read without knowing what it was about. As some of you may know, I work in a library, so I am around hundreds of books all day. One day this book came through the book drop for check in and I thought to myself that I've been meaning to read it, I might as well take it home while I have it in my hand. I have now almost read all of John Green's other books besides Will Grayson, which is in my lineup of books to read.


This book was a very pleasant story, beginning through the POV of Ava Holmes who suffers from extreme anxiety and OCD. As the book progresses, Ava finds herself trying to figure out where her friends missing dad went. You then read and get a glimpse of how the high stress situations can trigger and worsen mental illnesses such as anxiety and OCD through Ava and her overwhelming struggle with it.


I enjoyed this book on a personal note because I also struggle with anxiety and OCD and it was a comforting read reminding me that I'm not alone and it's more common than we think; anxiety and OCD are just different for everyone. I recommended this book to a friend, and would recommend it to anyone else. It's a light read being a single 286 page stand alone, with an ending thats unique and unpredictable.

 











9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 commentaire


kroush
12 nov. 2021

I liked this one too, and I thought John Green did an excellent job at capturing the feeling/thought processes with OCD & anxiety!

J'aime
bottom of page