top of page

First, We Make the Beast Beautiful

\By: Sarah Wilson

Anxiety, Self Help
 

 

A few weeks ago I wrote a review on a self help book called UnFu*k Yourself by John Bishop and I said it was in my top three favorite self help books. First, We make the Beast Beautiful by Sarah Wilson makes number one. I picked up this book a few months ago at Barnes and Nobles (click link to be directed to book) and wish I would have read this sooner.


Sarah Wilson struggles with High Functioning Anxiety and OCD like me along with some other things. From personal experience iv'e come to find that unless you're actually diagnosed, its hard to get people to understand how it affects you sometimes and can leave you feeling a little alone. Although reading Miss Wilson's book made me feel like I was reading my exact thoughts. This book felt like it was written perfectly for individuals who struggle day to day.


Wilson tells her journey through her lifelong struggle with anxiety and how she's come to learn that maybe she should "make her beast beautiful" instead of treating her anxiety like it's this ugly thing. She includes tips ands tricks throughout her chapter's that she's picked up along the way that help her when life gets a bit overwhelming. Although I will include something in the book that has been sticking with me ever since I read it and hopefully this insight alone is a selling point to show how amazing this book is. Wilson included this in her forth chapter titled 'Gentle and Small' that Andy Warhol once said; "Either once only, or every day. If you do something once it's exciting, and if you do it every day it's exciting. But if you do it...almost every day, it's not good any more."


This book is a 307 page read, falling into what I would consider a bit of a heavier read but a read nonetheless being completely worth it.

 
“Gentle and Small.” First, We Make the Beast Beautiful a New Memoir about Anxiety, Dey Street Books, 2018.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page