top of page

Bird Box

By: Josh Malerman

Thriller/Horror
 

TW: THIS BOOK CONTAINS SUICIDE AND DETAILED HORROR

 
 

Do you ever see a book at a bookstore or a library and know immediately you want to read it? While browsing my local Half priced Books last weekend I saw this gem and knew this was my next obsessive read. When the movie starring Sandra Bullock came out in 2018 I fell in love with it. Anything apocalyptic has my attention, especially when it's a new concept such as 'Bird Box.' While it took me awhile to read because my boyfriend and I moved into our very first apartment this week, yay, I was glued to it every second I could.


Bird Box starts the story of a woman named Malorie and her newfound discovery of being with child. What could go wrong...right? Reports of mass suicides come from Russia, and nobody thinks anything of it until whatever was killing people there starts targeting Alaska. Within months the suicides spread leaving the world empty and running with creatures that kill you just by looking at them. Learning how to retrain her senses to survive in a world based on sound instead of sight, Malorie wonders if she will ever find a safe place for her and her child on her journey into the post apocalyptic world.


This book has made my top 10 favorites for many different reasons. The main one being because it's a horror book and that seems to be the genre I enjoy the most, but because of how brilliantly it's written to show the true strengths a mother has to keep her children safe. Tied in with the parts almost too horrific to read are some of the bravest acts in any character. If you haven't read Bird Box you should add it to your 2022 reading list!


Also feel free to let me know in the comments if you would like me to publish my 2022 reading list! It would be fun to show you what I plan on reviewing this upcoming year! Happy Sunday!

 









24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page