top of page

New Years Resolution Books

HAPPY NEW YEARS EVERYONE! đŸ„‚


Every year we try to think of ways we can attempt to make ourselves better people. Whether that means at work, in your relationship, or overall a more functioning human of society. Yes, I am poking fun at people who make resolutions to become better because its a new year, but I am also one of those people. So I kinda can.


This year my resolution is to teach myself something new each month, subject or hobby. This month of January I will be spending the entire duration learning more out how our government works. I will admit I have found myself a little lost lately in current government issues, but ignorance isn't completely a bad thing and can be taught. Let me know in the comments if you would like me to post my New Years Resolution month list and how I plan to teach myself each new skill.


Below are eleven of my personally favorite self help books. I believe I am always trying to improve myself because we are never truly done evolving into who we are meant to be. If you feel the same way then I think these books are for you. :)

 

1) First, We Make the Beast Beautiful - Sarah Wilson

If you've read my other posts then you should know that this is my absolute favorite self help book. I struggle with anxiety a lot throughout my day to day life. It can even cause me to stress over little things like my boyfriend accidentally putting the cereal in the cabinet for dinner items. Insane, but my brain is wired to be that way. Although reading this book made me feel less crazy. I felt like I was being given genuine advice on how to help myself and others when I'm overwhelmed. Full review link:




2) Don't Overthink It - Anne Bogel

Anne hit the nail on the head with this book. I overthink absolutely everything, and while some things don't completely stick, this book taught me that it's okay to just make decisions sometimes no matter how the outcome is. One thing I really took away from this read was the fact that I'm going to get an outcome no matter what so might as well just accept it. Full review link:




3) Unfu*k Yourself - Gary John Bishop

This book was my leap into self help books in 2021. This came through at my work and I knew I wanted to read it. It was light and funny yet really made me think about some habits I wanted to try and intertwine with my everyday life. There's a tactic in here that he talked about in one of the chapters that I still use to this day when making decisions. "Am I willing or Unwilling." Full review link:




4) Can't Hurt Me - David Goggins

When my boyfriend and I first started talking he told me to read this book, so naturally to impress the boy I liked I did. Although I am not normally a fan of biographies, I could not stop reading about David Goggins and his journey to being one of the most inspiring badasses I've ever heard of. Full review link:




5) The Buddha Walks Into A Bar - Lodro Rinzler

I picked up this book at Half Priced Books and like many of the other books I review, I was just drawn to it. I will admit I only got about halfway through it, but eventually I plan on re-reading it and reviewing it sometime in 2022. In replacement to the lack of review here, I have the Goodreads summary linked below:




6) This Book Will Make You Kinder - Matt Haig

I am still in the process of reading this book but I wanted to add it to the list anyways because it's always important to be 'kind.' Along with the cute art style, Matt Haig lightly breaks down the concept of simply accepting that everyone is not like you and that is ok! Full review on this book coming soon!



7) The 5 Love Languages - Gary Chapman

I read this book earlier this year to learn more about my boyfriend's love language and I truly wish I could have everyone I know read this book. it has helped me understand not only how I perceive love and appreciation, but others as well. The review for this book should be coming out next week, so stay tuned for an email!




8) 1001 Ways To Be Romantic

Keeping with the theme of improving your relationships, 1001 Ways To Be Romantic is a cute little handbook that literally gives you 1001 ideas on how to surprise and improve your relationship with your partner. Leave a comment below if you would want a review and some examples of this book!




9) The Handbook for Bad Days - Eveline Helmink

So I will be honest 
I havent fully read this book (or the next two listed) but I saw them at my work and knew I wanted to read and recommend these books to anyone who wanted to improve themselves. Not to mention how fitting for a New Years Resolution post. ‘The Handbook for Bad Days’ is a light read meaning each page is something insightful and helpful. It is quite literally a handbook for tips when you are having a bad day. Link is below if you want to check out the book on Goodreads. I will be reading and reviewing this book sometime this month. :)





10) Set Boundaries, Find Peace - Nedra Glover Tawwab

I saw this book come in at my work and I just felt like this was the book I've been needing to read. I find the transition from kid into assertive adult being a little hard. Fortunately, I found something that feels assuring in helping me rediscover myself. As stated above these are books I plan on reading soon and reviewing. Goodreads review:




11) Please Don't Sit On My bed In Your Outside Clothes - Phoebe Robinson

The title alone is what drew me to this book, and when I picked it up and read the back cover I knew immediately this would be a book I would enjoy reading. It's not exactly a "self help" book but I felt like adding it because its entire purpose is to make us laugh and feel a little better about ourselves and a situation we might have been in by her sharing her own stories. I and genuinely excited to read and review this book for you all. Stay tuned for the email notifications!

 

As always, if you have any comments or recommendations or things you would like to see me review feel free to let me know down below or email me! :)


I'm glad to be sharing this post with you in 2022! Stay safe out there!

 

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page