top of page

The 5 Love Languages

By: Gary Chapman

Self-Help/Relationship Growth
 
 

As promised, I am giving you the review of one of my favorite self help books from 2021, 'The 5 Love Languages' by Gary Chapman. He has many versions of this book (for men, military edition, for children) and I must say this man knows what he's talking about.


Mr. Chapman has created this wonderful book to enlighten people on the top 5 love languages he has come to figure out. We all have one main love language that is the primary controller of our relationship life (platonic, romantic and with family.) Though in this book Gary focuses on the love languages in the romantic relationship and how being familiar with your language as well as your partners could help make the bond stronger than ever. On the contrast, not being familiar with your way of love or the way your partner views love can hurt the relationship without you even realizing. He states in this book that this is the reason most partners divorce or break up without even knowing that the fix is as simple as sitting down and understanding that your partner may be irritated with you all the time and vice versa simply because there is a miscommunication in love.


The 5 Love Languages Include:

  • Words Of Affirmation

  • Quality Time

  • Receiving/Giving Gifts

  • Acts of Service

  • Physical Touch


I am a strong believer that everyone accepts, perceives, and views love in completely different ways and Gary proves that exactly. Yes, some of us are hopeless romantics and some of us want to burn love with a blowtorch but the way we view love and affection effects us in our everyday lives even when we're not thinking about it. For example, my boyfriends number one love language is Physical Touch. I am not big on touching, but knowing he views love in more of a physical aspect allows me to take time out of my day to give him random hugs or little taps to let him know I love him. My love language is Quality Time. I feel most loved when my partner takes time out of his day to be with me or plans ahead to ensure we spend genuine time together and talk. You can find out your love language and how to put yours and your partners into full affect by reading this absolutely amazing book that I am so happy to be reviewing and recommending to you!


Don't know where to start with love languages? Thats okay! Before I even picked up this book I took an easy online quiz to figure out my love language so I could have a better understanding of it, and reading this only put the cherry on top.

Linked below is the love language quiz! Let me know in the comments what your love language is!

 

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page